

PSA DUBAN WORLD SERIES FINALS MAY 24-28 2016

The PSA Dubai World Series Finals is the climax to the Road to Dubai, with the top eight men and women in the WS standings at the end of the 2015-16 season competing for one of the most lucrative prizes in squash.

PRIZE MONEY: \$160,000 (men and women)

FORMAT: Two groups of four, with players playing a round-robin best-of-three series for a place in the knockout semi-finals and beyond – which will be played using the best-<u>of-five format.</u>

VENUE: The event will be staged in Downtown Dubai, with the Burj Khalifa, the world's tallest building at 828 metres, in the background. A state-of-the-art squash court and innovative spectator venue will be constructed in the three-hectare Burj Park.

CONTENDERS: Mohamed Elshorbagy and Nour El Sherbini, the respective world no.1s from Egypt, will be red-hot favourites to land the top prizes.

Elshorbagy claimed six of the seven WS titles on offer during the season, while El Sherbini has won three of her last four events, including a first World Championship and British Open.

Elshorbagy will face England's three-time world champion, Nick Matthew, Colombian Miguel Angel Rodriguez and France's Mathieu Castagnet in the group stages from May 24-26, while Gregory Gaultier, the world champion from France, takes on Australian Cameron Pilley, Germany's Simon Rösner and Egyptian Omar Mosaad in the other men's group.

In the women's event El Sherbini will meet compatriots Raneem El Welily and Omneya Abdel Kawy in the group stage, plus France's Camille Serme, while England's Laura Massaro will challenge eight-time world champion Nicol David, Egypt's Nouran Gohar and Amanda Sobhy, the first US-born player to compete in the Finals.

Men's standings:

DURRI

- 1 Mohamed Elshorbagy (Egy) 640 points; 2 Gregory Gaultier (Fra) 335;
- 3 Nick Matthew (Eng) 225; 4 Omar Mosaad (Egy) 220;
- 5 Miguel Angel Rodriguez (Col) 175; 6 Simon Rösner (Ger) 155;
- 7 Mathieu Castagnet (Fra) 150; 8 Cameron Pilley (Aus) 130.

Women's standings:

1= Nour El Sherbini (Egy) and Laura Massaro (Eng) 355 points;
3 Nicol David (Mas) 270; 4 Raneem El Welily (Egy) 215;
5= Nouran Gohar (Egy), Camille Serme (Fra) and
Omneya Abdel Kawy (Egy) 195; 8 Amanda Sobhy (USA) 170.

HISTORY: The World Series Finals has led a chequered history, with 19 men's events and only two women's, both of which were won by Malaysian Nicol David (in 2012 and 2013 in London). The first men's tournament was held in 1993 in Zurich, which also staged it in 1994. It has since been held in Hatfield in England (1996-99), London (1999-2006 and 2009-13), Manchester (2007) and Richmond, USA (2014).

Jansher holds the record for the most men's titles with four, closely followed by Briton Peter Nicol on three.

SPONSORS: Dubai Sports Council, Falcon & Associates.

PR view