The Interference Line of Thinking
|Refereeing is a thankless but
necessary task. It always helps to know the rules, and to use the
correct calls, but the real 'nitty-gritty' is what you do when one of
the players appeals for a let. Below is a summary of the thought
process a referee should go through when asked 'Let Please'...
|The Answer ...
|1. Did interference occur
|The striker has four basic
rights, and interference has occurred if the opponent fails to provide him
with any of these, even if he has made every effort to do so:
If no interference has occurred, then it's NO LET,
otherwise move on to no.2
Could the obstructed player have reached the ball and made a good return ?
And was he making every effort to do so ?
|If either answer is NO, then
it's NO LET,
otherwise move on to no.3
Did the obstructing player make every effort avoid the interference ?
|If he didn't, then it's a
otherwise move on to no.4
Was the obstructed player in a position to play a winning return ?
|If so, then it's a STROKE,
otherwise it's just a LET
Remember though, that this is a
simplification - read the rules thoroughly.
The over-riding principle of the
rules is to ensure a fair result for both players.