Rules Quiz

The World of Squash
at Your Fingertips

About SP
Squash on TV
UK Counties
World Links

Online Store
Books, Subs, Videos

Squash Directory
Where to get it all

Classified Section
Job, Jobs, Jobs Something to sell ...



  move over the white space below
to reveal the answer ... no peeking!
Sorbothane Full Strike Shock Stoppers
Rules Quiz answers
Answers and comment in an Instant Rules Quiz, and on the Rules Competition from issue 5, 2016

Q.1. Player A lob-serves.
The ball goes high and bounces on top of the glass back wall and back into the court. There is no marker’s call, but Player B stops while a surprised Player A is ready to continue.
What is the referee’s decision?
a) Let; b) Fault; c) Out; d) Stroke to A

A1: c) In squash the lines are out. So if a ball on service hits the service line, the half court line, short line, tin or out line, it is a fault. But what if there is no line as on a glass back wall?
Appendix 1 of the rules states:
OUT is a return that:
hits the wall on or above the out-line; or
hits any fixture above the out-line; or
hits the top edge of any wall of the court; or passes over a wall and out of the court; or passes through any fixture.

So our scenario is covered in the definitions. The correct answer c).
. Struck correctly
A player runs for a difficult ball and just gets her racket under it before it bounces twice. She gets it onto the front wall, drags the ball slightly on the racket, but doesn’t hit it twice. What is the marker’s call?
a) Down; b) Not up; c) Carried; d) There is no call (good ball).
A2: b) You will find ‘struck correctly’ mentioned twice in the rules and explained in the definitions.
Appendix 1 of the rules states:
CORRECTLY: When the ball is struck with the racket, held in the hand, not more than once and without prolonged contact on the racket.

So the ball must be hit correctly, not dragged, scooped or carried. The marker’s call for a ball hit incorrectly is ‘not up’ and again this is mentioned in the definitions.
The correct answer: b).
Q.3. At the Canary Wharf Classic 2016 a single official was used to officiate. At one stage a player appealed a maker’s call and was told there was no appeal. What do the rules say? Can a single official review and over-rule their own call?
a) A single official can consider an appeal on their own call.
b) A single official cannot consider an appeal on their own call.
c) The official’s decision is final and cannot be changed
A3: a) Marker calls the play and a referee answers appeals. The referee’s decision is final. So can a single official review his own call? Yes, as he is in effect performing two roles - or wearing two hats.

Rule 3.2 states:
If there is only one official, that official is both the marker and the referee. A player may appeal any call or lack of call made by that official as marker to that same official as the referee.
The correct answer: a).
Polar M400 Competition
Rules Quiz answers
Answers and comment in an Instant Rules Quiz, and on the Rules Competition from issue 4, 2016

Q1: Player A boasts from the back of the court and races forward to cover the drop-shot. Player B executes a drop-shot and it dead-nicks, but he stands in the way so that A, who appeals, cannot get through. What is the referee’s decision? a) Stroke to A; b) No let; c) Let.

A1: b) No let. This is a frustrating situation for A, who does not have a chance to retrieve the ball, but if B has played a winning shot, A will be refused a let and so B wins the rally. This situation is covered under rule 8 (the interference rule). Section 8.6 sets out the overall provision and rule 8.6.2 specifically states: “If there was interference, but the striker would not have been able to make a good return, no let is allowed.” Or for those who still use the old referee’s ‘line of thinking’: “Could the obstructed player have reached the ball, made a good return and was he making every effort to do so?” No? Then no let. This winning shot principle is the over- riding one here. It is behind many rules.
Q2: Player A does a tennis-style, overhead serve, jumping forward and leaving the floor as he hits the ball. The serve goes above the service line and lands in the opposite service quarter. Player B appeals to the referee that it is a fault. What is the referee’s decision?
a) No let; b) Let; c) Fault.
A2: c) Fault. A server must have at least part of one foot in contact with the floor and inside the service box for a service to be good. Otherwise, it is a fault. This is covered in the dedicated service section of the rules, namely rule 5. Rule 5.7 explains the five key requirements. In brief, to be good, a serve must: 1. Be hit correctly; 2. Be executed with one foot touching the floor within the service box and not on a line; 3. Be hit directly to the front wall above the service line; 4. Land within the opposite ‘quarter-court’ and not on a line (half-court or short line);
5. Not be out.
Q3: Two players collide on court. One feels quite faint and is unable to play on. They wish to play later in the day and to start the match again. What is the referee’s decision?
a) If the injured player is unable to continue within 15 minutes (this may be extended by another 15 minutes at the referee’s discretion), the match is awarded to the opponent.
b) The players can arrange to play at any time that day, but the score must start at 0-0.
c) The players can play later that day if the time schedule for the competition allows, but the score must stand.

a) This situation is covered under rule 14: Illness, injury and bleeding. Our assessment here is that it is a contributed injury. Rule 14 gives the injured player 15 minutes to recover which “may be extended by a further 15 minutes at the discretion of the referee.”
Test your knowledge of the rules ...

move over the white space below
to reveal the answer ... no peeking!

Questions and answers courtesy of England Squash 
You are a single official acting as both Marker and Referee. After calling a ball ‘Not Up’ during a rally, the player appeals against the call. You change your mind and decide that a ‘Yes Let’ decision is more appropriate. The players opponent then appeals on the grounds that you cannot change your decision.

What is the referees action & why?
As a single official you will act as both Marker and Referee. Any call made by you as the Marker can be appealed against but in your role as Referee you can uphold or change any decision you have previously made as Marker. No appeal is allowed against a referee’s decision.
During a match, play is suspended by the referee due to sweating wall surfaces on the court. Eventually play is resumed the next day.

At what score does the match recommence?
The match score will stand if recommenced at a later date.
On his/her follow through, a player’s racket accidentally slips from his/her hand and hits the opponent who is on the opposite side of the court. The opponent suffers a head injury which is bleeding. The injured player indicates that he/she is prepared to continue the match after receiving treatment.

What is the referees action & why?
Referee would categorise this injury as ‘Opponent Inflicted’ and advise the players and spectators. Because the injured player would require time for treatment, the match would be awarded to him/her. In cases of ‘Opponent Inflicted’ injury the referee has discretion to use any Code of Conduct penalty but can only use penalties less than ‘Conduct Match’ when the player can resume immediately.
The server serves from the right box and moves to the T. The ball hits the side and rear walls so that the ball travels behind the receiver, who then plays the ball on his/her forehand in the backhand rear quarter of the court. The ball strikes the server on its way to the front wall.

What is the referees decision & why?
Stroke to Server. Opponent has ‘mentally turned’ by allowing the ball to pass behind and around him/her. By playing and striking his opponent with the ball after turning or mentally turning this is considered dangerous and a stroke is awarded against him/her.
After the second game, both players arrive on court after 15 seconds is called by the referee. As the referee calls ‘time’ one player suddenly leaves the court area without saying anything and returns some 35 seconds later stating that he/she had to replace a racket with broken strings.

What is the referees action & why?
Referee would give a Code of Conduct Warning or Penalty. Players must be able to resume play when ‘time’ is called by the referee. A change of equipment is permissible only if the player requests permission to do this and, can also satisfy the referee that there is a genuine need to do so.
After throwing the ball into the air, the server becomes off balance and makes no attempt to strike the ball. Is it a fault? If not, why not?

What is the referees decision and why?
No, it is not a fault, as the player was not ‘committed to the shot’. He/she has made no attempt to strike the ball after it has been released.
The striker plays at and misses the ball, which then hits the opponent who was standing behind the striker, without crowding. The striker runs back for another attempt, which would have been possible.

What is the referees decision and why?
Let, as the player would have been able to recover and get to the ball and return it to the front wall on the second attempt had the ball not hit the opponent.
During the first game, a player suffers a bleeding nose. There has been no contact or cause from the opponent. What does the referee announce to the audience? How long does the player have to recover? If after recovery play should resume and later the nose starts to bleed again, how long would the player have to recover?

What is the referees decision and why?
Bleeding – unlimited time is allowed to stop bleeding for the first instance. Any repeat however has no time permitted. The player must concede the current game and take 90 seconds interval. If they are not ready to play on they must then concede that match. No bleeding or blood stained clothes are allowed on court
If, after having missed the ball initially and then made a further attempt, a player hits the opponent with the ball which might or might not be a good return, what call, if any, should the marker make and what happens next?
Marker calls ‘not up’. If the referee considers the return may or would have been good, Yes Let. If the return would not have been good, opponent wins rally
The server serves quickly before the receiver is ready to take the service, then collects the ball and moves quickly to the other service box. The receiver plays no stroke and appeals claiming not to have been ready. What action would the referee take?
Retake serve from correct side (yes let).
A player stops playing and claims that noise from outside the court has caused a distraction. What action would the referee take?
Decide whether there was such a distraction.
If so, Yes Let
A player hits a good length shot that lodges in the nick between the rear and sidewall. What is the referee’s decision?
Yes Let.